Boban and Marko Marković

Imaginative spirits

16 May 2022

Reading time: 4 Minute(s)

nah dran

It was the surprise success at Cannes in 1995: the film Underground by Serb Emir Kusturica won the Palme d'Or. While the territory of the former Yugoslavia was being increasingly torn apart by war at the time, the film festival celebrated the political satire in which the history of the multi-ethnic state is told. And the Boban Marković Orkestar became famous beyond the borders of its homeland with the film music.
Text: Petra Rieß

"The family tradition is being passed on."

Wild chords swept through the cinema world at a crazy speed, it was a sound that had never been heard outside Yugoslavia in this way. The music had been written by the Bosnian Goran Bregović, as he had done two years earlier for Kusturica's Arizona Dream, and he had hired the Boban Marković Orkestar to play it.

Balkan Brass became a popular term - but initially with the help of a completely different band, the Romanian Fanfare Ciocarlia, which music producer Henry Ernst discovered on his travels and brought together with the Berlin Piranha label before taking them under his own wing in 2002 with the newly founded Asphalt Tango Records (see also article on RomArchive from page 24).

For the Serbian trumpeter and flugelhorn player Boban Marković, things did not go quite so fairytale-like at first with his international career. Although he was considered the leading musician of his genre in his home country and the star of the famous Guča Trumpet Festival, it was the films that made his recordings known outside his martyred homeland.

Marković was born in 1964 in the small town of Vladičin Han, on the railway line of the old great cultural city of Niš. His son Marko was born in 1988. He too is a brilliant trumpet and flugelhorn player. So the family tradition is being passed on. From 2004, the two of them operated together in the Boban i Marko Marković Orkestar, in order to lead their own ensembles today with the Boban Marković Orkestar and the Marko Marković Brass Band. But they also perform together from time to time - for example at the opening of the Rudolstadt Festival this year.

Boban and Marko Marković

Photo: Hype Staff

"There's looping and sampling, rocking and swaying."

The two musicians can look back on a long line of ancestors. Father and grandfather Marković come from a Roma family with a long tradition of musicians. His grandfather was a celebrated trumpet player in Serbia in the 1930s, who even played for kings.
Boban Marković became popular in his home country as a multiple winner of the Golden Trumpet at the festival in Guča. The small town in central Serbia with only three thousand inhabitants thus hosts one of the largest folk music festivals in the world. For musicians from the country, there is hardly a greater honour imaginable than winning here. Boban Marković has succeeded so often that he has only competed out of competition since his victory in 2001 and was appointed ambassador of the festival in 2006. Which, by the way, likes to adorn itself with the quote of a famous visitor, the great Miles Davis, who is said to have said during his stay there that he didn't know the trumpet could be played in this way.

For some time now, father and son Marković have increasingly been incorporating international influences into their music. The latest release of the Boban Marković Orkestar, the album Mrak from 2019, is also particularly enjoyable in this respect. Mrak is the Serbian word for "dark". Which, however, does not describe the music at all. The Orkestar mixes Balkan brass with jazz, hip-hop, klezmer and electronics, there is looping and sampling, rocking and swaying. Sometimes someone hacks away at his keyboard so that it sounds as if you were on the Berlin neighbourhood in Kreuzberg listening to improvised pop music. Then again, there is a whiff of the Orient and the desert in the air.

But there are also soft, melancholic, thoughtful pieces. The title "Duša" ("Soul"), for example, is beautiful enough to make you cry. An accordion mingles with the winds, which rub against and with each other like a tango. Then again, it is a bazaar that lures the ear and evokes the spices and smells of the Orient.

The influences that both Boban and Marko Marković work with are unpredictable. There are imaginative spirits at work, that's for sure. They are enthusiastic play children who soak up everything they hear and then make their own seductive, groovy mix out of it. Even the famous "Ederlezi" is taken up and varied again and again. It seems as if no melody is safe from this father-son synthesis.

On earlier recordings, it all sounded even more traditional. Wild, but without influences from other musical cultures. The roots of such brass bands from the Balkans go back to the Ottoman Empire, where as military bands they provided for the splendour and glory of the ruler. Then the brass instruments moved into people's everyday lives, accompanying their births, baptisms, weddings and funerals. They are mobile little music groups, as they are cultivated especially in the Roma communities. Everyone knows what to play. Sheet music is usually not needed. This tradition also exists in Central European culture, even though it was forgotten for a long time.

Marko Marković knows this well. Already at the age of ten, he played in concerts of his father's orchestra or at weddings they performed at. He became a permanent member of the band, whose leadership was even given to him when he was only eighteen. With this, the son was also ready to participate in the Guča Festival. For some years now, he has had his own orchestra, the aforementioned Marko Markovic Brass Band.

As for the father, in 2014 he was honoured by the British Songlines world music magazine to be the only trumpet player on the list of the fifty best instrumentalists in the world. There is nothing to add to that.

tomato-production.com/artists/boban-markovic-orkestar

 

Date: 07.07.22 Rudolstadt, Heinepark
Current album:

Mrak (Fonó, 2019)

0 comments

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

More articles in this section ...

Boban und Marko Marković

Fantasievolle Geister

16. Mai 2022

Lesezeit: 4 Minute(n)

folker präsentiert: 

Es war 1995 der Überraschungserfolg in Cannes: Der Film Underground des Serben Emir Kusturica gewinnt die Goldene Palme. Während das Gebiet des ehemaligen Jugoslawien damals mehr und mehr vom Krieg zerfetzt wurde, feierte man auf dem Filmfestival die Politsatire, in der die Geschichte des Vielvölkerstaates erzählt wird. Und das Boban Marković Orkestar wurde mit der Filmmusik dazu schlagartig über die Grenzen seiner Heimat hinaus bekannt.
Text: Petra Rieß

„Die Familientradition wird weitergegeben.“

Wilde Akkorde fegten in irrem Tempo durch die Kinowelt, es war ein Sound, wie man ihn außerhalb Jugoslawiens auf diese Weise noch nicht gehört hatte. Die Musik hatte, wie schon zwei Jahre zuvor für Kusturicas Arizona Dream, der Bosnier Goran Bregović geschrieben, und er hatte das Boban Marković Orkestar angeheuert, sie zu spielen.

Balkan Brass wurde zum populären Begriff – allerdings zunächst mithilfe einer ganz anderen Band, der rumänischen Fanfare Ciocarlia, die der Musikproduzent Henry Ernst auf Reisen entdeckt und mit dem Berliner Piranha-Label zusammengebracht hatte, bevor er sie 2002 mit den neu gegründeten Asphalt Tango Records selbst unter seine Fittiche nahm (siehe auch Artikel zum RomArchive ab Seite 24).

Für den serbischen Trompeter und Flügelhornspieler Boban Marković lief es zunächst nicht ganz so märchenhaft mit der internationalen Karriere. Obwohl er in seinem Heimatland als der führende Musiker seines Genres und Star des berühmten Guča-Trompetenfestivals galt, waren es die Filme, die seine Aufnahmen auch außerhalb seiner gemarterten Heimat bekannt machten.

Geboren wurde Marković 1964 in der Kleinstadt Vladičin Han, an der Bahnstrecke der alten großen Kulturstadt Niš. Sein Sohn Marko kam 1988 zur Welt. Auch er ist ein brillanter Trompeter und Flügelhornspieler. Die Familientradition wird also weitergegeben. Ab 2004 operierten die beiden gemeinsam im Boban i Marko Marković Orkestar, um heute mit dem Boban Marković Orkestar und der Marko Marković Brass Band ihre jeweils eigenen Ensembles zu leiten. Die aber auch schon mal zusammen auftreten – wie zum Beispiel zur Eröffnung des Rudolstadt-Festivals in diesem Jahr.

Boban und Marko Marković

Foto: Hype Stab

„Da wird geloopt und gesampelt, gerockt und geschwoft.“

Die beiden Musiker können auf eine lange Vorfahrenreihe zurückblicken. Vater beziehungsweise Großvater Marković stammt aus einer Romafamilie mit einer langen Musikantentradition. Bereits dessen Großvater war im Serbien der Dreißigerjahre ein gefeierter Trompetenspieler gewesen, der sogar vor Königen gespielt hatte.  
Populär wurde Boban Marković in seiner Heimat als mehrfacher Gewinner der Goldenen Trompete beim Festival in Guča. Die Kleinstadt in Zentralserbien mit nur dreitausend Einwohnern beherbergt damit eines der größten Volksmusikfestivals der Welt. Für Musiker des Landes gibt es kaum eine größere vorstellbare Ehre, als hier zu gewinnen. Boban Marković gelang das so oft, dass er seit seinem Sieg 2001 nur mehr außer Konkurrenz antritt und 2006 zum Botschafter des Festivals ernannt wurde. Das sich übrigens gern mit dem Zitat eines berühmten Besuchers schmückt, des großen Miles Davis, der bei seinem Aufenthalt dort gesagt haben soll, dass er nicht wusste, dass die Trompete auf diese Art gespielt werden könne.

Seit geraumer Zeit beziehen Vater wie Sohn Marković verstärkt internationale Einflüsse in ihre Musik mit ein. Auch die jüngste Veröffentlichung des Boban Marković Orkestars, das Album Mrak aus dem Jahr 2019, macht in dieser Hinsicht besonderen Spaß. Mrak ist das serbische Wort für „dunkel“. Was die Musik allerdings ganz und gar nicht beschreibt. Das Orkestar mixt Balkan Brass mit Jazz, Hip-Hop, Klezmer und Elektronik, da wird geloopt und gesampelt, gerockt und geschwoft. Manchmal hackt einer auf sein Keyboard ein, dass es klingt, als sei man auf dem Berliner Kiez in Kreuzberg und höre improvisierte Popmusik. Dann wieder liegt ein Hauch von Orient und Wüste in der Luft.

Doch es gibt auch weiche, melancholisch-nachdenkliche Stücke. Der Titel „Duša“ („Seele“) zum Beispiel ist zum Weinen schön. Da mischt sich ein Akkordeon unter die Bläser, die tangoartig an- und miteinander reiben. Dann wieder ist es ein Basar, der das Ohr lockt und die Gewürze und Gerüche des Orients heraufbeschwört.

Die Einflüsse, die sowohl Boban als auch Marko Marković verarbeiten, sind unvorhersehbar. Da walten fantasievolle Geister, das ist mal sicher. Es sind begeisternde Spielkinder, die alles aufsaugen, was sie hören, und dann ihre eigene, verführerische, groovende Mischung daraus machen. Auch das berühmte „Ederlezi“ wird immer wieder aufgegriffen und variiert. Es scheint, als sei keine Melodie vor dieser Vater-Sohn-Synthese sicher.

Auf früheren Aufnahmen klang das alles noch traditioneller. Wild, aber ohne Einflüsse anderer Musikkulturen. Die Wurzeln solcher Blaskapellen vom Balkan reichen bis ins Osmanische Reich, wo sie als Militärkapellen für Glanz und Gloria des Herrschers sorgten. Dann wanderten die Blechblasinstrumente ins alltägliche Leben der Menschen, begleiteten ihre Geburten, Taufen, Hochzeiten und Beerdigungen. Es sind bewegliche kleine Musikgruppen, wie sie vor allem in den Gemeinschaften der Roma gepflegt werden. Jeder weiß, was zu spielen ist. Noten braucht man meistens keine. In der mitteleuropäischen Kultur gibt es diese Tradition ebenfalls, auch wenn sie lange Zeit vergessen war.

Marko Marković kennt das gut. Schon im Alter von zehn Jahren hat er bei Konzerten des Orchesters seines Vaters oder auf Hochzeiten, an denen sie auftraten, mitgespielt. Er wurde festes Mitglied der Band, deren Leitung ihm sogar mit nur achtzehn Jahren übertragen wurde. Damit war auch der Sohn bereit, am Guča-Festival teilzunehmen. Seit einigen Jahren hat er nun sein eigenes Orchester, die erwähnte Marko Markovic Brass Band.

Was den Vater betrifft, wurde diesem 2014 die Ehre zuteil, dass das britische Songlines-Weltmusikmagazin ihn als einzigen Trompetenspieler auf die Liste der fünfzig besten Instrumentalisten der Welt setzte. Dem ist nichts hinzuzufügen.

tomato-production.com/kuenstler/boban-markovic-orkestar

 

Termin: 07.07.22 Rudolstadt, Heinepark
Aktuelles Album:

Mrak (Fonó, 2019)

0 Kommentare

Einen Kommentar abschicken

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Weitere Beiträge dieser Rubrik …